Austin Film Festival Announces 25 Screenwriters to Watch In 2020

AUSTIN, Texas–(BUSINESS WIRE)–#AFF27–Austin Film Festival & Writers Conference (AFF), the premier film festival recognizing the writers’ contributions to film, television, theater, and new media, announced today their fifth annual “25 Screenwriters to Watch” list. Since 1994, AFF has sought to elevate the recognition and stature of screenwriters through a myriad of initiatives and programs, including its industry-renowned Writers Conference, a film festival perennially packed with the visionaries of tomorrow, and the largest screenplay competition in the world. Released today on the AFF website, this year’s “25 Screenwriters to Watch” list is an extension of its mission and includes a roster of promising and innovative voices, featuring writers from diverse backgrounds, mediums, and points in their careers.

Featured writers from last year’s list continue to find success in the industry. Television writer Davia Carter joined the writing room for the new CW series Katy Keene. Tripper Clancy’s film Stuber, produced by Fox and starring Kumail Nanjiani, premiered in theaters last July. Tripper is currently at work on the Kevin Hart led Quibi title Die Hart scheduled to release this year. Jean Lee who’s been noted by Women in Film, the Blacklist, and Ryan Murphy’s HALF, among other entities, is currently in post-production on a new documentary feature titled The Heart of Puerto Rico.

The 2020 Screenwriters to Watch include:

Indianna Bell

Julie & Shawna Benson

Zoe Cheng

Jon Comulada

Christopher Corte

Micah Cyrus

Jonathan Flicker

Zarna Garg & Greg Fortier

Rupinder Gill

Giorgos Georgopoulos & Maria Fakinou

Cris Graves

Josh Hallman & Kai Hasson

Jeremy Laval

Hannah Leder & Alexandra Kotcheff

David Midell

Par Parekh

David Pantano

Larry Postel

Chris Retts

Caitlin Scherer

Kelly Strathmore

Yi Tang

Christina Tucker

Patrick Wimp

Gareth Wronski

More information on these writers can be found at


Austin Film Festival is a non-profit organization dedicated to furthering the art, craft and business of writers and filmmakers and recognizing their contributions to film, television, theatre and new media. This project is supported in part by the Cultural Arts Division of the City of Austin Economic Development Department and the Texas Commission on the Arts.


Kelly Lafargue
o 512.478.4795

error: Content is protected !!